Portland's Great Fire of 1866 spurred the rebuilding of much of Portland and the expansion into such areas as Deering Street. Built in 1867 by Simon H. Libby, who often worked with famous architect Francis H. Fassett, the double house known as the William Ross & John N. Lord houses (11-13) exhibits the beautiful detail of the Second Empire style. The architect-designed update preserves the integrity of this classic structure. In 2007 all-new gas heating, wiring, and plumbing were installed along with central air-conditioning in the 3788 square-foot residence. The vestibule of the home is entered through original frosted glass doors. The updated double parlor is graced with built-ins, original wide plank flooring, elegant columns, and a gas fireplace with original marble surround. The dining and gourmet kitchen area features classic exposed brick and is beautifully accented by another gas fireplace with an original wood columns. Soapstone counters and a stunning magma marble bar that compliment the custom cherry cabinets, the professional Wolf range top and exhaust and other top-of-the-line appliances in the well-planned cooking area. The dramatic stairway leads to the second floor which offers a master suite with luxurious Japanese soaking tub, studio, and laundry room. Plans are available for conversion of the studio to a bedroom, den, or fantastic owner's suite. Light fills the third floor bedrooms that offer large closets with built-ins. An office and full custom bath round out the space. A large private back yard is enhanced by a pergola with grape vines. Park in the two-car garage and stroll to the Portland Museum of Art, Westin Hotel and fantastic restaurants. Classic design, recent renovations, private back yard, and parking for three all in the center of Portland make this home one of a kind!